Hot Cocoa Cupcakes

Hey everyone! Since the weather is getting a little colder (even though there’s no snow yet…) I decided to make a seasonal cupcake and go with a hot chocolate theme. I’ve been wanting to make these for quite a while, so when the opportunity arose, I was super excited!!

Disclosure: these are a bit time consuming…something I didn’t really realize until I was half way done. But, totally worth it!

coca

As usual I found this recipe from Pinterest, but I actually came across it about six months ago. I couldn’t really justify making hot chocolate cupcakes in July, so I decided to wait it out until now. This recipe is from Me and My Pink Mixer, and you can find it here.

One thing I will say is that I didn’t use the extra tablespoon of hot water or dutch dark cocoa like the recipe suggested. The batter ended up being runny enough without any additions. I also baked them for about 16 minutes, rather than 18-20. Other than that, I followed the recipe pretty closely.

For the chocolate drizzle, I melted some chocolate chips in 10 second increments in the microwave. After it was melted, I poured it into a zip lock bag, cut a really small hole in the tip, and drizzled away! I used the mini marshmallows that came in for a little extra decoration on the top, as well as some chocolate sprinkles. That was it! I’m wondering how these taste with a mug of hot chocolate… 🙂

hcc

Enjoy the holiday season,

Sam

 

Leave a Reply

