Turkey Toppers

Hey everyone! Hopefully you all had an enjoyable Thanksgiving break and got at least one feast in there! As usual, I was pretty busy baking away this weekend and made some festive cupcakes for Thanksgiving for my family and I to devour. I found this idea on Pinterest and just had to try it out.

turk

To start off, I just made some basic chocolate cupcakes with a chocolate frosting. You can find those recipes here:

Chocolate Cupcake: Here

Chocolate Frosting: Here

Shout out to the Food Network for these awesome recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

Two more ingredients you’ll need are candy corn and candy eyes. It was a bit challenging to find candy corn this time of the year, but I managed to find it in the clearance isle of my local grocery store. I found the candy eyes (pictured above) at Walmart, in the cake isle, but you can find them on Amazon here.

So after the cupcakes cooled, I frosted them using the classic swirl, but you can pretty much go crazy here, and frost them however you want to! As long as it looks like an abstract turkey body, you’re pretty much all set ๐Ÿ™‚

After frosting them all, I stuck two rows of four candy corn(s) face down into the frosting to look like feathers, and one facing outward to be the beak. Last but not least I stuck two candy eyes on there, and that was it!

turkd

That was a pretty simple way to make these cupcakes, but you can get as creative (or un-creative) as you want here. A nice addition to the cupcake itself could be a ganache or jelly filling, and maybe adding some legs on these guys somehow. If you make any additions I would love to see the results!

 

Ta-ta for now,
Sam

Leave a Reply

