Classic Chocolate Cupcakes

Hey everyone! This weeks cupcakes were an experiment for me! I used the usual chocolate cupcake from Sally’s Baking Addiction, but I doubled the recipe so it would make a whole dozen instead of a half. Here is that recipe! NOTE: I used a different buttercream recipe this week, from Wilton….and guys, I am SO SO SO happy I did. This is my ABSOLUTE new favorite..it’s so delicious, and it holds its shape for hours, even out of the fridge. I am IN LOVE! I hadn’t used vegetable shortening in buttercream frosting before, and I really think that’s what does the trick here. Amazing! It takes a little more effort when piping your frosting on the cupcakes, but it’s so worth it in the end. Here’s the frosting recipe!

indexyymu

So as usual, I baked the cupcakes, let them cool and frosted them using a 2D tip in a classic swirl fashion. If you couldn’t tell, this is my go to decorating style 🙂

After frosting these guys, I felt like something was still missing from them. While browsing through the cupcake section of on Pinterest lately, I’ve come across some beautiful cupcakes with chocolate designs on the very top. So, I decided to give that a try. It was mildly successful.

To start this, I put about a cup of dark chocolate morsels into a microwave safe bowl and microwaved them in increments of 20 seconds, stirring after every time. After about a minute of total microwave time, the chocolate chips turned into a creamy, chip free mixture that I then QUICKLY put into a small plastic ziploc bag. I laid out a piece of wax paper, cut a reallllllllllllllllllllly small hole into the very tip of the plastic bag, and started free-handing some chocolate decorations.I’m pretty impatient so after I finished the designs, I stuck the wax paper into the fridge for about 30 minutes. After the designs had hardened, I carefully took them off the wax paper and placed them on the cupcakes. Done!

You can find some inspirations and patterns on Pinterest, or just design whatever shapes you want. It’s pretty fun! Plus, if something doesn’t turn out the way you want, you can just eat it…I had plenty of mistakes!!

I sprinkled on some chocolate sprinkles that I bought from King Arthur Flour (yes, I have blogged about these before, because, well, they ROCK). They are just a perfect finishing touch.

sdlkfjsdkfjs

That’s all for this week, stay tuned for more treats!

Sam

Leave a Reply

