Sunflower Sweetness

Hey everyone!

My sister’s birthday was this week so to help celebrate, I wanted to bake her some cupcakes! In the past few posts I’ve made, I have had a hard time eating all of the cupcakes that I’ve baked. When I make over 24 in a batch, it can be hard to keep up! I have tried to freeze cupcakes before, but they don’t taste the same when you thaw them out later.

My sister and I were having a girl’s night at her house, with just the two of us, and my dilemma was that I didn’t want to make waaaaay too many for just us. To see if anyone else had my same problem, I googled “Half dozen cupcake recipe”, and I was in luck!  This was SO exciting for me because I was also in a serious time crunch. Thank you Sally’s Baking Addiction!!

sunflower

Here is this week’s recipe:

Half Dozen Cupcake Recipe

I followed the recipe’s instructions exactly, but I substituted regular milk for almond milk in both the cupcake and the frosting. I have found that almond and soy milk taste AMAZING in cupcakes, so they are my go to lately. sun flower 2A special ingredient that I used in these is Dutch Double Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder from King Arthur Flour. This cocoa powder is the best I have ever used. I love it! It offers a deeply rich flavor and is just absolutely delicious.

After baking and frosting these cupcakes, I added a few personal touches. I sprinkled each cupcake with some sprinkles I bought at King Arthur Flour, and some sugar sunflower candies on the very top. I got the sunflower toppers from the baking aisle in Walmart. I couldn’t resist and just knew I would use them at some point…and that was it! These were so easy, and took so little time. I loved this recipe. Seriously, these chocolate cupcakes were SO GOOD!

That’s all I have this week, stay tuned for something new in next week’s blog post! Enjoy your Halloween weekend!

Sam

Leave a Reply

