Baby Boy Cupcakes

Hey guys! Hopefully you all had a great weekend enjoying the start of fall foliage. This weekend I kept myself really busy! I made over three dozen cupcakes for a baby shower. I wanted to share this post with you because although it was very time consuming, it was an overall fairly easy (and fun) process. There are so many ways to customize cupcakes for any event, so I’ll fill you in on a few tips to make some impressive cupcakes for a baby shower, or any occasion 🙂

First, I gathered some information about the family, and the shower. I found out it  was a boy themed shower, and that the dad-to-be is a member of the fire department. So, with this information, I started planning what I wanted my cupcakes to look like. I decided that a baby blue foot would be a cute topper on some of the cupcakes, but wasn’t sure exactly how I wanted to make them. In my very first blog post, I made some paw print candies as toppers using a plastic chocolate mold from Amazon. Hoping that I could find some baby feet chocolate molds, I went back to Amazon, and got lucky! I’m actually not sure why I doubted that they would have it, I don’t think I’ve ever been able to not find something on Amazon. There are so many different chocolate molds, which is amazing for cupcake decorating. You can find anything! I’ve never paid more than $6 for one on Amazon Prime, and you can reuse them over and over. This is one of many ways you can customize for any event!

The next step was to somehow incorporate the fireman theme. This is where Etsy came in handy! I just searched “firetruck cupcakes” and found really cute cupcake wrappers for $3.00! It was an instant download template thaaldskjft you save on your computer. Once you spend the $3.00, you can reuse it as many times as you want. All you have to do is print them out on cardstock paper, cut them out, and wrap them around a finished cupcake.

For the actual baking process, I wanted to make chocolate and vanilla cupcakes, as well as chocolate and vanilla frosting. I started by baking the chocolate and vanilla cupcakes.

Here are the recipes I used:

Chocolate Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcakes

Chocolate Frosting

Vanilla Frosting

 While they were cooling, I made the chocolate and vanilla frosting. After I finished making the vanilla frosting, I split it into two bowls, and dyed one bowl with royal blue color gel. You can frost the cupcakes however you want, but for variety, I frosted every possible combination. On both  the white and blue frosted cupcakes, I used the classic swirl method. This looks a lot more complicated than it really is. All you need is a plastic bag (or piping bag), and a 1M tip. I learned how to do this from my mom, but here is a 25 second YouTubBaby Boy Cupcakese tutorial to show you what I mean.

For the chocolate frosted cupcakes, I used a star tip and lightly piped on about 8 stars on each cupcake. As you can see in the picture, the baby blue feet ended up on the chocolate frosted cupcakes. I just melted white chocolate,  added a small amount of royal blue gel to dye them, and poured the melted chocolate into the molds. So easy! For the blue and white frosted cupcakes, I just found some white and blue sprinkles that I happened to have in my baking cabinet. You can find these in any baking isle.

That’s it! It’s seriously so easy to make a variety of cupcakes for any party or event, for a pretty decent price! Using Amazon and Etsy, you can search for endless themed decorations and accessories. I hope you enjoyed this weeks post, feel free to comment with any questions about these cupcakes, or if you have questions about a themed event of your own!

See you next time,

Sam

Leave a Reply

