Samoa Cupcakes

Hey guys! I hope you all had a lovely week and weekend. Mine was full of baking and decorating! Here’s a delicious recipe I experimented with this weekend: Samoa Cupcakes!

I love everything about Girl Scout Cookies. Everything except that awful time of year when you can’t find them. Anywhere. My dad always tells me to buy a bunch of boxes and save them so I’ll have them throughout the year. It never works. No matter how many boxes I buy, they get eaten. Fast.

girl-scoutcook-4
http://www.theimpeccablelife.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/girl-scoutcook-4.jpg

Anyways, my personal favorite is the Samoa cookie. Caramel + Chocolate + Coconut = YUM! After a while of being sad that I wouldn’t be able to enjoy one for awhile I decided to see if I could make one in cupcake form. I looked a few recipes up on Pinterest, but couldn’t find one that I really liked, so I decided to mix and match a few recipes.

Samoa Cupcakes

samoaFirst, I used one of my go to chocolate cupcake recipes. This recipe is courtesy of Simply Recipes, you can find it here. NOTE: I didn’t use the frosting recipes that comes with this! This recipe is perfect for this cupcakes, because the coffee (yes, coffee in cupcake batter!) makes for an intense chocolate flavor, which compliments the caramel that we’ll add later.

Okay, so now time for the frosting. We are going to make a caramel flavored buttercream my mom taught me how to make. First, we’ll make the caramel flavoring. You can use this for making candied apples, too. 🙂

Homemade Caramel:

1 cup sugar

6 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 cup heavy cream

Step One: Place your sugar in a pot on the stove, and stir frequently on medium heat until it turns into a thick liquid. This takes about 5 minutes, so be patient! After the sugar has liquefied, add the butter a tablespoon at a time. Once the butter has melted completely, add the heavy cream. Turn down the stove to low, and continue stirring until the caramel thickens slightly. Once done, pour into a bowl, and set aside to cool.

lksdjfdlskfj

Next, we’ll make a simple (but thickened) buttercream while the caramel is cooling.

Buttercream Frosting:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups confectioners sugar

2 tablespoons heavy cream

Usually buttercream frosting calls for milk, not heavy cream. We need our frosting to be a bit thicker and less fluffy, so I substituted heavy cream.

First, whip the butter, then add the vanilla. Add in confectioners sugar and cream, alternating as you add in each. By the time you finish making the frosting, the caramel should be cooled enough to add. This part is dependent on your personal preference. You can add however little or much caramel you’d like.

Before we start frosting, it’s time to toast some coconut for a topping. I used a baking sheet, lined it with tin foil, and then spread out coconut flakes and popped it into the oven at 325 for about 4 minutes.

cococolksdj;l

^^^That’s just 4 minutes, so be careful!

Next, you’ll want to take a butter knife and spread a generous amount of frosting on the top of each cupcake. After this, roll the top of the cupcake around in the toasted coconut. You can be done at this point, but I decided to add some chocolate sprinkles to the top. Another yummy idea would be to drizzle some chocolate syrup to finish it off.

That’s all ’til next time. Thanks for tuning in and see you next week!

-Sam

Leave a Reply

