Back To School Cupcakes

Hey guys! For my first blog post I wanted to share some great recipes that I used to bake some back to school cupcakes with! What better way could you celebrate being back at Plymouth State than with a delicious and pretty cupcake?! I don’t know either.

The two kinds of cupcakes that I made were Grasshopper Cupcakes (Dark Chocolate Peppermint) and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes.

  1. Grasshopper Cupcakes (a.k.a. Dark Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes)
The final product!
My final product!

One of my absolute favorite combinations is dark chocolate and peppermint. So, when I came across a recipe on Pinterest for these Grasshopper cupcakes, I just knew I had to make them. I based my cupcakes almost completely off of this recipe from The Crafting Foodie, but tweaked it just a bit. So, before reading the recipe above, here are the changes I made:

Instead of topping the cupcake with thin mints, oreos, or other cookies, I just drizzled some chocolate syrup on top instead. There is a lot of peppermint in this recipe, and I didn’t want to overload anyone’s taste buds! However, if you’re a huge fan of peppermint, go ahead and follow this recipe straight through.

Side note(s): when making the peppermint ganache filling, it’s SO IMPORTANT that you use bittersweet chocolate. It is less sweet than regular chocolate, so it will give your ganache filling a more tart taste. (That’s a good thing!!) Also, if you’re new to coring cupcakes for fillings, and don’t have a cupcake corer, you can just use a sharp knife and cut a cone shape out of the center of the cupcake. But, if you find yourself addicted to cupcakes like me, you may want to get a cupcake corer like this one from Amazon.

Lastly, don’t fret if you’ve never heard of “piping on the frosting”. It’s basically just a fancy way of saying “go ahead and frost your cupcakes”. If you want the shape that I made with the frosting, all you have to do is fill up a gallon sized Zip-Lock bag, cut a small hole in the corner of it, and slowly squeeze out the frosting until you have the amount and shape you like.

The great thing about this cupcake is that it is versatile in color. If you’re not a student at PSU, you can substitute green coloring for whatever you want!

If dark chocolate, peppermint, and chocolate chips sound like a delicious combination to you, click here and get your bake on!

2. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

Voilà!
Voilà!

So, these cupcakes pretty much have the same story as the ones above. Saw them, loved them, had to make them. So I did!  These cupcakes have an edible chocolate chip cookie dough filling. Yes, edible cookie dough.

If you want to make these, the cookie dough filling does require to freeze overnight, so you’ll have to do a little planning ahead!  I didn’t make any changes in this recipe, only an addition, which I’ll explain below. Here is the recipe for these amazing cupcakes, thanks to Life in the Lofthouse!

The only thing I did differently from this recipe was add a green chocolate paw print, as you can see in the picture above. This step isn’t necessary, but it definitely adds some school spirit! I just melted some white chocolate, added a bit of green coloring, and poured that mixture into this paw print mold that I bought from Amazon. There is a huge assortment of chocolate molds on Amazon, so you can customize your cupcakes to fit any occasion.

I hope you guys enjoyed my first blog post and are baking to your hearts content! If you have any questions about the recipes, decorations, or process, please comment below and I’d be happy to help you. Stay tuned for more recipes and tips next week!

Sam

Leave a Reply

